Academic writing · DOME · Medical Records Online · Social media in higher education

Researching and teaching like never before!

This week has really been filled with both research and teaching activities related to eHealth, communication in engineering sciences and social media in higher education, just to mention a few areas. I will summarize this week’s activities in this blog post, just to give a broad overview of what I’m currently working on. The activities will be discussed more thoroughly in later posts. It may look below as though I never have any spare time. This week is, however, not very representative when it comes to work load – especially the teaching part takes up more time than usual.

 

Research

As I wrote in an earlier blog post I’m one of the organizers behind a workshop with a focus on eHealth, and more specifically on differences between eHealth services between different regions. I will act as a patient, asking questions to the other organizers who in turn act as representatives from hospitals in different regions. This week I have been working on finding relevant questions to ask, which is not an easy task since these questions need to pinpoint differences in eHealth services not only between different Swedish county councils but also between Sweden and Norway! I will get back to this in another blog post when I know how the event turned out.

I have also been working on another eHealth related study, focusing on interviews with physicians about how their work environment and communication with patients have been affected by patient accessible medical health records. This will probably be the largest study I will lead during my time as a postdoc at Uppsala University. In this study I’m leading a group with both researchers from several Swedish universities and medical doctors. This week we were brainstorming interview questions – an activity we will work on continuously during the next couple of weeks. During this week I have also been working on the application we need to send to the ethical board later on. I will introduce this study a lot more thoroughly in an upcoming blog post and I will of course also post updates about the work we do.

 

Teaching

In parallel with the research activities at Uppsala University I have also worked as a teacher at KTH (have a 30% leave of absence for this). I’m responsible for two groups of about 30 students in the course “Writing in the Engineering Profession”, where first year computer science students are taught how to write scientific reports. This week I have (and will) used 30% of my work time and some of my spare time to comment report drafts that the students have handed in. In a few weeks I will grade the students based on their final reports. I will write more about this course later on, since I want to clearly point out why I think this kind of course is so important to have as a mandatory course early on in education programs.

 

Writing

No week in academia is complete without some writing, right?  🙂  In case you are worried that there could be some blank spaces left in my calendar I can assure you there are not! During most of the spare time I have left this week I have been working on a paper manuscript, together with my colleagues Pernilla Josefsson from KTH and Renate Andersen from University of Oslo. The study concerns the use of social media in a higher education course. (Very) preliminary findings from the study were presented at the conference “Conference KTH Scholarship of Teaching and Learning 2015”. The manuscript (abstract) can be found among the proceedings posted here or on Research gate. I will, of course, write a lot more about the study after the journal article has been published.

Leave a Reply

