Academic writing · Grant application

Some experiences from a ”Grant Club”

Kraemers

Yesterday I participated in a “Grant Club” – an event where several researchers from the division of Visual Information and Interaction at the IT department at Uppsala University gathered to spend a day out of office for research grant application writing. It was a full-day event, spent at hotel von Kraemers (the image shows the view from the top floor where we spent the day), which was a follow-up on an earlier meeting where everyone planning to write research applications this year briefly introduced the main ideas in their proposals.

The day started with three short inspirational talks about how to write successful grant applications and some experiences of working with research funding and proposals in other countries. I found a short discussion about the important role that illustrations can play particularly interesting – I will definitely try to put in a picture outlining the basic parts of my own proposed project in my application!  🙂

After the short introduction we worked on our own proposals until lunch. During this time there were also quite a few interactions between colleagues discussing the different proposals. My own application, which I will describe in more depth when it has been shipped off to VR, is about using technology to ease the communication between sighted and deaf-blind pupils in group work situations in schools.

After lunch we continued to work on our respective proposals, after a short open question/discussion session where results from the first half of the day were brought up and discussed. It was very good to have this summary before moving on!

During the last 45 minutes everyone presented what they had been working on/discussed during the day and there was really a consensus about that the even had been well organized and rewarding. During this last session it was also very interesting to hear a brief summary of the different proposals different research colleagues were working on.

This is the first time I have been a part of a similar event and I really liked it and hope that the tradition will continue. It was very well organized by our head of department professor Ingela Nyström. I not only appreciated the fact that I could use this day to improve my own research grant application, but also that I could do it in this creative environment where a lot of ideas were currently taking form. I also got a lot of ideas from the short inspirational talks which I will definitely implement in my application. A very good experience!

One thought on “Some experiences from a ”Grant Club”

Leave a Reply

