Thesis defense

My colleague, Thomas Lind, successfully defended his thesis today!

During the afternoon today I attended Thomas Lind‘s thesis defense. We have shared office ever since I started working at Uppsala University and this of course adds another dimension to my experience of the event. The main supervisor was Åsa Cajander and the co-supervisors were Marta Larusdottir and Bengt Sandblad. We all belong to the HTO (Health Technology & Organisation) research group. 

The opponent was Netta Iivari from University of Oulu and the grading committee consisted of Olle Bälter from KTH, José Abdelnour Nocera from University of West London and Tone Bratteteig from University of Oslo. The chair was our HCI professor Mats Lind

As always the opponent started out by presenting the thesis and putting it in context. Netta was very good at doing this and she really managed to add new dimensions to the work. After the presentation the discussion between Netta and Thomas took place. I must say that Thomas handled this situation very well – he was calm and collected and always took his time to think before he answered! The same goes for the interaction with the grading committee members. I will not go into any details about the specific topics covered, since I know another blog post about the defense will show up at our group blog quite soon. That post will surely include pictures from the defense itself. 

Before I close this post I just want to highlight the very special cake, shown in the image above. As I understand it this masterpiece was home made. The top of it is actually a cake version of Thomas’ thesis! 

One thought on “My colleague, Thomas Lind, successfully defended his thesis today!

Leave a Reply

